May 2, 2014

Banquet Honors College Community Members

Outstanding Western Nevada College students and faculty members, along with valued community partners, were honored at the 14th annual Appreciation and Awards Banquet on Saturday at the Governor’s Mansion in Carson City.

The banquet was organized by the Associated Students of Western Nevada, WNC’s student government.

Awards were presented for academic, community service, teaching and leadership achievements.

Scott Morrison, director of Liberal Arts, was the keynote speaker.

WNC President Chet Burton presented Dr. Robert Slaby, superintendent of Storey County School District, and Sue Keema, deputy superintendent of Carson City School District, with Outstanding Service recognition in support of the new Jump Start College program.

Academic honorees were Lindsey Stoeberl, Arts and Humanities (English); Brenda M. Tidwell and David R. Wilkins, Automotive Technology; Joseph Baggs, Deaf Studies; Nicole West, Education; Ashley Daw and Stacy Melhus, Nursing; Erin Cambra and Matthew Vallarino, Science, Math and Technology; and Paula Swanberg, Technology (Automated Systems).

Program awards were received by Cynthia Soto-Cuadras, Latino Cohort Student of the Year; Jennifer Wesling, Outstanding Honors Project (Business); Honey Tapley, Phi Theta Kappa Coca-Cola Scholarship; Connor Klein, Student Athlete of the Year (Baseball); Caroline McCarthy, Student Athlete of the Year (Softball); and Timothy Galluzi, Student Veteran of the Year.

Awards for service to the college went to Lynn Capurro and James Clifford, Academic Skills Center tutors; Henry Weiner, Outstanding Contributions to Student Life; Howard Collett, Troy Tingle and Jaime Aust, Outstanding Service to ASWN; and the American Sign Language Club, Outstanding Student Club.

Earning the Outstanding Faculty award were: Dr. Tom Kubistant (Carson City) and Laurel Topken (Fallon), Part-Time Faculty Members of the Year; Richard Arrigotti, Faculty of the Year (Carson/Douglas); and Dr. Doris Dwyer, Faculty of the Year (Fallon/Rural).

WNC Vice President Robert Wynegar and Nevada System of Higher Education Regent Jack Schofield presented two awards made by the Nevada Board of Regents. The NHSE Academic Adviser Award for WNC is Lupe Ramirez, and nursing student Ian Greenlee was presented with the NSHE Regents Scholar Award.

A leadership award in honor of 2012-13 ASWN President Curtis Blackwell, who died earlier this year, was presented to Alana Rogne.

ASWN student leaders for 2013-14 include Alejandra Leon, president; Pedro Duenas, vice president; Edward Stahi, secretary; senators Erik Llamas, Jessica Portillo, Rielly Rose and Julie Ryan; representatives Alex Mariscal and Donita Petean; and adviser Shelly Bale.

For additional information, please contact:
WNC Information and Marketing Services
2201 W. College Parkway
Carson City, NV 89703
Phone: 775-445-3234
Fax: 775-445-3198

© 2018 Western Nevada College
Privacy Policy | Important Notices | Title IX | WNC en Español | Home
Information: 775-445-3000
General Questions: